Standards for impact-resistant gloves include the three levels of ANSI/ISEA 138-2019 and the CE EN388:2016 Standard which also measures cut resistance.

What are the standards for impact gloves?


ANSI/ISEA 138 – 2019

In 2019, a new regulatory standard, ANSI/ISEA 138-2019 American National Standard for Performance and Classification for Impact-Resistant Gloves, was introduced to address gaps in evaluating the performance of anti-impact gloves.

This regulatory standard states, "minimum performance, classification, and labeling requirements for hand protection products designed to protect the knuckles and fingers from impact forces, while performing occupational tasks." Three performance levels are used to reflect numerical representation as an indication of the glove's protection it provides. Level one will be the lowest rating for impact protection, and level three will be the highest.



According to EN388, qualities such as abrasion resistance, cut resistance, tear resistance, puncture resistance, and impact protection are tested and rated.

The performance scores are presented for each test by four numbers and two letters under the EN388 symbol. The EN388 standard is intended to be used in conjunction with EN420:2003 + A1:2009, which is designed to ensure that the gloves do not jeopardize the safety and comfort of workers who are using them. These testing standards are new to the EN 388:2016 standard and are optional. It should only be included for gloves that claim specific impact-resistant properties.

Download the guide about the glove markings for EN 388

How Ansell can help?

Our proprietary service AnsellGUARDIAN® can help companies assess their workplace safety and select the right Personal Protective Equipment solution and improve worker safety and business performance. Request an assessment to learn how an AnsellGUARDIAN® assessment can increase workplace safety.

Learn more about AnsellGUARDIAN®

Back to FAQ pageContact us